Central Oregon – Smith Rock (#18 )

SMITH ROCK
October 15, 2011
Info: (http://www.oregonstateparks.org/park_51.php) If you enjoy scenic views of deep river canyons or rock climbing, Smith Rock State Park is the place for you. There are several thousand climbs in the park. More than a thousand are bolted routes. We also offer miles of hiking and mountain biking trails. Along your trip through the canyon, you might see golden eagles, prairie falcons, mule deer, river otter and beaver.

$5 Day use is required.  They will tag your car if you don’t have this.

Jenn’s View: Loved the hike. It gets your heart pumping on Misery Ridge. But the hike isn’t super long so great way to get a good cardio in. Scott and I walked and did the hike all the way around on the River trail even with him not feeling 100% great. My poor babe!  I noticed there were several trails so yes, I will be back.  Click on this link to take you to the map of Smith Rock.
Smith Rock Map 


I didn’t get too many pictures.  I was more in “awe” with the climbers all over the rocks.  It makes me want to climb! When you first hit the trail, the first thing I noticed (besides the uphill battle climb of Misery Ridge) was the river. Awfully pretty.

So, Scott and I start climbing Misery Ridge. Dang, we caught up to a 2 year old, red headed little boy and was memorized on how well he was doing this hike. He did better than I did and Scott was amazing – even with his cough/cold.  I think he had the flu but he would never had admitted it. 


We reached the top and the views are amazing.  I think you can see Scott’s house from here. LOL.  There is a trail that I saw from this view point that I really want to do. One of these days, we will do it.

I think Scott’s house is somewhere there. If it was a clear day, I bet you could see the mountain ranges.

Thank you Joyce, Jonas, and Esther for my wonderful shoes!

See the zig zag line? That’s a trail I want to do next!

Just around the corner you can see Monkey Face.  It really does look like a monkey’s face. It’s super cool. What surprised me was that there were NO climbers on it. Oh well. I wanted to get a better shot of Monkey Face so I climbed the trail to get a closer look. I made Scott quite nervous.  He doesn’t like to be at the edge.  It makes my heart pump fast when the wind is blowing hard and I’m at the edge but the views are amazing AND I got signal on my phone! I was chit chattin’ with my friend Kim about my red hooker heels!

All along the trail, I saw so many climbers that day. Hopefully, one of these days, I’ll climb it. It would be so amazing!


Leave a Reply

