Oregon Coast – Tillamook County – Clarence Creek Falls

CLARENCE CREEK FALLS

APRIL 22. 2012

Info: From the Waterfall Northwest Society (http://www.waterfallsnorthwest.com/nws/falls.php?num=4087) The Forest Service has advertised Clarence Creek Falls by sign along the Nestucca River Road. What neither the Forest Service has done, nor does the book “A Waterfall Lover’s Guide to the Pacific Northwest”, is identify which of the two waterfalls along Clarence Creek is intended this designation. Topographic maps delimitate the different falls, but the lower of the two falls is near impossible to see, especially if not watching carefully. The lower falls consists of three sliding steps, totaling about 60 feet. A significant amount of foreshortening doesn’t allow the falls’ size to truly be illustrated, and a twist in the gorge at the falls obstructs the upper tiers from being seen from all but a few perspectives. Because the upper and lower falls of Clarence Creek are located within about 500 feet of one another, I’m designating them as lower and upper. Unfortunately neither fall is easy to see because there are no developed trails or viewpoints, this being the vastly more difficult to see.
 
Directions:
  1. On Hwy 101 south of Tillamook enter the town of Beaver.
  2. Near milepost 80 turn onto the road signed as “Upper Nestucca River Recreation Area” and “Blaine”.
    Note the mileposts on this road as you travel.
  3. After 6.7 miles you’ll reach the town of Blaine. Where the road branches
    note the sign stating “Carlton”. Head straight towards Carlton on Road 858.
  4. At milepost 11.7 look for a left turn on a road with a “Road Closed” sign.
    You will note the following sign for Road 8300

Jenn’s View: This fall would be so amazing to photograph if only I was brave enough to climb down. It would be better if I had rope and someone with me to climb down. I know EXACTLY where I would set up my tripod and take 1000+ pictures to get that ONE great picture. LOL. Now, the directions in the  book SUCKS! I was lost and missed my turn by 10+ miles! I ended up in some National Forest (probably Suislaw National Forest) and man did I need to go Pee. Awww Geez. Who reads this anyways?   So, not really sure where I was. I think I saw Forest Road 8838 (?) so I know I was waaaayyy off. I didn’t see anyone on the road so I couldn’t ask. I ended up driving on some gravel road and there was a fork in the road so I turned around and headed back. When I was coming back on the road and back tracking, I saw a sign that said Clarence Creek Falls. I remembered that was very close to the falls I really wanted to go to – Niagara Falls. I turned on to that road.  Its Forest Road 8300 – you are on the right road!

The next sign is on the road and it’s pretty much a warning. Just remember there are traps and your dogs can get seriously hurt.

Tillamook - Clarence Creek Falls

I couldn’t get a picture of the falls. I drove up and down trying to figure out how to get down there but nope, nada. ANYONE ACTUALLY GOT DOWN HERE???? Well, let me know! There has been people who got a shot of this. Here is one by Bryan Swan.

Tillamook Oregon, Suislaw national Forest

If anyone can get a shot like this….Please Please Please comment and let me know where I can find your pictures!

2 thoughts on “Oregon Coast – Tillamook County – Clarence Creek Falls

  1. Pingback: Oregon Beach – Pacific City / Cape Kiwanda | Hiking Throughout OREGON

Leave a Reply

